Last updated:

Clinical teachers from across Wales celebrated for excellence

Dr Heidi Phillips, an Associate Professor for Primary Care at Swansea University Medical School, has won the prestigious BMA Cymru Wales/ BMJ Clinical Teacher of the Year Award for 2019. Heidi picked up the award at The Clinical Teacher of the Year Awards, held at The Exchange Hotel on Tuesday 2 April. The award recognises a clinical teacher in Wales who has excelled in their work, supporting doctors in training and medical students in Wales.

The judges praised Heidi for her innovative and inspiring work on widening access to potential medical students and developing recruitment initiatives in primary care and in under-served communities in Wales.

Heidi has worked as a local GP for many years and joined the Graduate Entry Medicine (GEM) program at Swansea University Medical School in 2004, where she quickly developed a passion for medical education. Over the years, she has undertaken several additional roles including deputy program director, admissions director and director of quality.

The nominees for the national awards come from local awards given by HEIW, Swansea University Medical School, and Cardiff University School of Medicine. The winners of the individual awards were considered by an independent panel of judges who then decided the overall all-Wales winner, announced at a ceremony held at the Exchange Hotel, Cardiff on Tuesday.

Clinical teachers from across Wales were recognised at the award ceremony, which is now in its ninth year.

Minister for Health and Social Services, Vaughan Gething said:

“This annual event provides an excellent opportunity to honor the remarkable clinical leaders we have here in Wales and celebrate their achievements. The dedication of these individuals to improving and developing excellence within the NHS is truly inspirational. A huge congratulations to each of the winners; it was wonderful to meet with so many people responsible for making an outstanding contribution to our health service, which results in better care for our patients across Wales.”

Dr David Bailey, BMA Welsh Council Chair, added:

“The men and women celebrated at our Clinical Teacher of the Year Awards are a showcase in how to develop the medical workforce effectively, and their dedication to clinical teaching in our hospitals, primary care and the wider community are to be commended.

“The standard of nominations this year was exceptionally high and reflected a full range of teaching styles and specialisms. Having clinical teachers of such high quality will only encourage more doctors to complete their post graduate training here in Wales and benefit from all that our professionals have to offer, with fantastic training throughout their careers.

“These awards have honoured those entrusted with developing the expertise of the medical workforce and the multidisciplinary teams that many of them will lead and be part of, which results in better care for our patients across the health service.

“We are delighted to be able to celebrate their achievements.”

To find out more about the Clinical Teacher of the Year Awards, visit

For further information please contact:

BMA Cymru Wales, Fifth floor, 2 Caspian Point, Caspian Way, Cardiff Bay, Cardiff, CF10 4DQ
Telephone: 029 2047 4626
Mobile: 07500 765994
Email: Carla Murphy ([email protected])